listening ear

I think it’s been a while since I was the listening ear. A long time ago, I was the person to turn to, to be there to listen to my friends’ troubles (that don’t involve being stressed with work) and attempt to give comforting responses or advice.

As I was thinking about this, I realised that I used to do it all the time. But university just made us superficial and stuck in the bubble where exams are EVERYTHING. It’s all we talk about, it’s all we think about, it’s all we worry. Not that their issues are super serious but you know, there’s more to life than school.

Someone once said that a friend isn’t one that meets you to talk about school and nothing else. That’s a schoolmate. A close friend? Maybe not. The irony is I think I read this in the school newspapers. Hmm!

Okay but anyway now that exams are over, I was worried that people would just ditch me and enjoy holidays with their true friends and I won’t see them till school starts again. Which, for me, meant that I would see them next year.

But I realised it isn’t true and I’m glad. (:

Got back in my game for being the listener that I once was, I hope!

PS: Roomie, I miss brushing teeth with you and singing in the shower with you and doing our in-bed-before-we-say-good-night talks. Or the getting each other to wake up moments. ):

4 thoughts on “listening ear

  1. oei keith, when you stop staying with twan you’ll feel the same. HMPH. :p

    audreyyy… rendezvous avec moi SOON. (:

Why don't you say something?